The View From Here
The Art Gallery of Western Australia
Creative Production, Writing, Film Production

The View From Here

This series of documentary shorts capture the perspectives of 26 Western Australian artists, featured in The Art Gallery of Western Australia's 2021 exhibition The View From Here—the largest exhibition of Western Australian art in the institution's history. These short films formed a digital campaign in the lead up to the exhibition's opening, which also marked the reopening of the gallery with a distinct new brand after a period of closure due to COVID and building renovations.

Created under the leadership of guest artistic director and transdisciplinary artist Ian Strange, The View From Here campaign reflected the largest transformation of the state art museum since 1980. Strange's artistic vision for the gallery was focused on it becoming a "communicator of art", sharing the stories behind the art beyond its brutalist walls. This year-long filming project, directed by Dominic Pearce and shot across Perth and Western Australia, saw the collection of in-depth legacy interviews with established and emerging Western Australian artists, and culminated in a series of vignettes released every day for a month in the lead up to the exhibition.

Highlighted here are interviews with Michele Theunissen, Brian Blanchflower, Ngarralja Tommy May, Abdul Abdullah, Bruno Booth, Tim Meakins, Sandra Hill and artist collective IXIII, as well as a retrospective on Western Australian graffiti art using footage harvested from archival tapes.

The full series can be explored at www.tvfh.artgallery.wa.gov.au, a dedicated legacy microsite developed as part of the campaign.


Director: Dominic Pearce
Artistic Director: Ian Strange
Creative Producer/Writer/Story Director: Emma Pegrum
Cinematographers: Dominic Pearce, Eamon Dimmit, Ben Berkhout, Kezia Alexandra, Matsu Photography, Dave Le May, Dan Riches, Luke Riches, Iryna Yaminska
Sound Recordists: Matt Bairstow, Ben Hooft, Jack Purkiss
Editors: Dominic Pearce, Steven Alyian
Sound Mix: Soundbyte

Original Music by Marc Earley
© 2021 Native Tongue Music Publishing Pty Ltd